Khor Sheed


Horses Name: KHOR SHEED
Sire – Dam - Broodmare Sire: Dubawi - Princess Manila (Manila)
Race Name: £100,000 Tattersalls Millions Fillies' Auction Stakes
Racecourse, Country: Newmarket, UK
Owner: Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum
Breeder: Card Bloodstock
Trainer: Luca Cumani
Vendor: John Troy, Agent
Purchaser: Luca Cumani
Sale Price: 42,000 Guineas

KHOR SHEED was the winner of the £100,000 Tattersalls Millions Fillies Auction Stakes today when fighting it out with Richard Hannon’s TALE UNTOLD to win by a short head. The two-year-old filly, who was a Listed winner previously, was bought at last year’s Tattersalls October Yearling Sales Book 1 for 42,000gns by her trainer Luca Cumani and she took home over £55,000 for her win today.

Her trainer commented afterwards, “Kieran said that she came to it a little too soon and was idling in front but she is a filly who is developing nicely. I would like to extend my thanks to Tattersalls for putting on this race. I will talk to the owner, but I imagine that she will go to a Group race over 6 furlongs next.”

Richard Hannon picked up over £25,000 for second place prize money, which will help him extend his lead in the trainer championship ahead of Sir Michael Stoute.

Michael Jarvis trained the favourite, WARM BREEZE who made the running but tired, but the trainer will try to make amends in tomorrow’s £200,000 Tattersalls Millions Auction Trophy when he saddles the current favourite, ROMAN EAGLE. The son of Holy Roman Emperor won a maiden at Sandown at the beginning of July on his only start. SIR REGINALD, from the inform Richard Fahey yard, STENTORIAN and ORACLE, the Ballydoyle contender are all interesting contenders for the race, for which there are 16 runners.

The next two races in the Tattersalls Millions are the most valuable of the series, the £500,000 Tattersalls Millions 2YO Trophy and the £300,000 Tattersalls Millions 2YO Fillies Trophy on Saturday 2nd October, 2010 whilst Book 1 of the Tattersalls October Yearling Sale, featuring the only yearlings eligible for next year’s series takes place from 5th – 7th October.